Reflections #1

Next Monday is Martin Luther King Day, and I highly encourage everyone to reflect and remember the great things he did for this nation. Watch the speech he gave that sent ripples throughout the nation, throughout the world, and remind yourself that one person can change the world. By being willing to speak up about injustice, others will find their voice through yours. Do not sit on the sidelines of your own life.

Now, with that said, I’ve been considering what to do with this blog for some time. I’m going to be incredibly busy with school – 19 credit hours, 3 clubs, and all the homework that comes with it – so it’s going to be hard for me to fit in extra writing. But I have no intention of putting the blog on hiatus.

I may end up using this blog to reflect on what I’m learning, as I have a pretty interesting mix of classes. I’m taking the following: Beginning Japanese II; Philosophy: Society, Issues, and Ethics; Leadership and Ethics; Survey of Social Psychology; History of Modern East Asia; and History of American Popular Culture. I have a feeling that quite a few of those classes are going to be thought-provoking, and I have always found it easiest to explore my thoughts through writing.

Outside of classes, I’m participating in a club called AppSpeaks, and its purpose is to create a comfortable atmosphere for students to discuss controversial topics. The club hosts its own version of TEDtalks and a public forum called the Socrates Cafe. I love discussing controversial topics, so I think this will be an awesome opportunity.

I’m also participating in Sustained Dialogue and training to be a moderator of the group. From what I understand (the training is at the end of the month, so I have very little background information), the organization focuses on creating dialogue that is inclusive and allows those of diverse backgrounds to discuss controversial and sensitive topics in a safe atmosphere.

The third club is Pagan Student Association (PSA), and I participated in it last semester and will continue to do so throughout my time at ASU. Paganism is an integral component of my life and has been for the last 17 years. It is also through PSA that I managed to find a more serious group of practitioners, and, though we all come from very different backgrounds and traditions, manage to find a way to respect each other’s paths enough to participate in each other’s rituals. That’s a very rare find in the Pagan world, and I’m incredibly blessed to have found such a group.

For now, this blog will be dedicated to my own reflective writing. We’ll see what the winds bring when the semester ends.

Leave a Reply

