Book Review: Wolf Mark by Joseph Bruchac

For those who are unaware of the speed at which I read, I average approximately 100 pages an hour. I’m not entirely sure why I am able to read as quickly as I do, but I chalk it up to the fact that I was taught to speed read when I was taught to read. Also, I spent thousands of hours reading every summer when I was growing up, and I always came home with 20+ books with every library trip I made. To be honest, I still do that.

Anyway, I read “Wolf Mark” by Joseph Bruchac. It’s a Young Adult (YA) fantasy novel mixed with suspense.

The blurb is as follows:

Luke King knows a lot of things. Like four different ways to disarm an enemy before the attacker can take a breath. Like every detail of every book he’s ever read. And Luke knows enough just enough about what his father does as a black ops infiltrator to know which questions not to ask. Like why does his family move around so much? Luke just hopes that this time his family is settled for a while. He’ll finally be able to have a normal life. He’ll be able to ask the girl he likes to take a ride with him on his motorcycle. He’ll hang out with his friends. He’ll be invisible just as he wants. But when his dad goes missing, Luke realizes that life will always be different for him. Suddenly he must avoid the kidnappers looking to use him as leverage against his father, while at the same time evading the attention of the school’s mysterious elite clique of Russian hipsters, who seem much too interested in Luke’s own personal secret. Faced with multiple challenges and his emerging paranormal identity, Luke must decide who to trust as he creates his own destiny.

Anytime a book is written in first person, I am automatically more inclined to be interested in reading it. I have trouble getting invested in characters when books are written in 3rd person…and most books are written in 3rd person.

Bruchac combines Native American legends with suspense to create a different perspective on what it means to be a werewolf. If you’re an avid YA reader, this is definitely a title to add to your list.

 

 

Leave a Reply

