Zimbabwe


Victoria Falls (above)

Harare; capital of Zimbabwe (above)

Cliff formation in Zimbabwe (above)

Zimbabwe is the last African country for which I am doing a photographic exploration. There are many more countries in Africa than the ones I selected, but I am trying to approach learning about each continent from multiple directions.

I think that a lot of people, especially those of us who were born in the United States, are incredibly ignorant in the way we approach cultures in other countries. I have met many people who have been surprised to learn that there are industrial cities in other countries. Actually, I would say I have met more people who think that non-Westernized countries are primitive than I have met people who understand that industrialization isn’t a uniquely Western concept.

In fact, I’d say industrialization is a remarkably ancient concept, considering the ancient cities and ruins of various cultures. Cities are a staple of human civilization. The real question is how we prevent our beloved cities from destroying the planet we all share.

4 thoughts on “Zimbabwe

Leave a Reply

