Poem: Africa Has a Soul

Africa Has a Soul by Kemurl Fofanah

From the mouth of asmara
To the ears of praia
I see a soul
From the desert of tunis
To the flats earth of cape town
I see a soul clinging to the skin of africa

From the tombs of cairo
To the ports of abuja
I feel a soul
From the grains of rabat
To the giant isle of antanarivo
I feel a soul clutched to the skin of africa

From the stem of kilmanjaro
To the gentle rains of victoria falls
I hear a soul
From the shores of tripoli
To the jungles of congo
I hear a soul whaling in skin of africa

From the dusk of bamako
To the sweats of bujumbura
I smell a soul
From the huts of khartoum
To the hives of mogadishu
I smell a soul yelling in the skins of africa

From the ocean waves of freetown
To the birds chimes of nairobi
I touch a soul
From the thunder grumbling of monrovia
To the bloody smiles of kigali
I touch a soul rooting from the skins of africa
Africa has a soul
Africa my country, has a soul
bloody, smiling, crying soul

Leave a Reply

