Book Recommendation: Gameboard of the Gods

Note: I’m still working on my Read the World Challenge, and I have the five books I intend to read that were either written by an African or set in Africa. I hope to have those books finished by the end of this week since I’m on Spring Break. This book recommendation comes as an intermission between my posts where I explore the culture of Africa through its literature. 

I recently finished Richelle Mead’s book, Gameboard of the Gods, the first in the Age of X series. I’d never read any of her books before, although several people have suggested I read her Vampire Academy series.

The blurb on the back is as follows:

The truth is, when you banish the gods from the world, they eventually come back—with a vengeance.

In the near future, Justin March lives in exile from the Republic of United North America. After failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims, Justin is surprised when he is sent back with a peculiar assignment—to solve a string of ritualistic murders steeped in seemingly unexplainable phenomena.

Justin’s return comes with an even bigger shock: His new partner and bodyguard, Mae Koskinen, is a prætorian, one of the Republic’s technologically enhanced supersoldiers. Mae’s inexplicable beauty and aristocratic upbringing attract Justin’s curiosity and desire, but her true nature holds more danger than anyone realizes.

As their investigation unfolds, Justin and Mae find themselves in the crosshairs of mysterious enemies. Powers greater than they can imagine have started to assemble in the shadows, preparing to reclaim a world that has renounced religion and where humans are merely gamepieces on their board.

You can purchase the novel here.

Why I recommend this book: I picked the book up when I was looking for something to read to kill some time before a meeting, and I had trouble putting it down. The characters come alive on the page, and the plot is fast-paced. This is the first book I’ve ever read by Richelle Mead, but her skills as an author are authentic. The hook was there from the first line of the novel, and there was never an easy resolution to any of the conflicts that occurred. All I can say for this book is that, when I reached the end, I wasn’t ready for it to be the end, and I’ll definitely be reading more of her books in the future.

Leave a Reply

