Bittersweet Chapter One

Bittersweet is the name of the novel I’m working on for Nano this year. I’ve only written one chapter so far, but I’m not too far behind on my word count (I am behind, though) because I’ve been writing some scenes for another novel when I get stuck.

Bittersweet is proving to be one of those books that is going to be incredibly difficult to write, and that’s fine. It happens sometimes. But I’ve decided to share the story as I write it, unedited, so please keep in mind that this is an incredibly rough draft of the first chapter.

Chapter One

Also, I’ve never mentioned this before, but part of what makes me unique as a writer is that I’ve almost always written in a collaborative way. I have never liked the idea of hoarding ideas or being the only person with a say in the direction a story goes. Perhaps this comes from writing fanfiction, but I like to get feedback from readers on where they would like a story to go. While I have final say, of course, sometimes the ideas I get from readers creates a new subplot or even a complete divergence from the original plot. Incidentally, this is the largest reason I’m a pantser and not a plotter. So if you read the first chapter and have any ideas, then let me know. Chances are, I’ll find a way to incorporate your ideas.

Leave a Reply

