John Green on Common Spelling and Grammar Errors

Most of the grammatical information in this video is correct, but he does make a mistake with #4.

#4: “I want to have friends that I can trust, that love me for the man that I’ve become” is corrected in the video to “I want to have friends who I can trust, who love me for the man who I’ve become.” 

The grammatical mistake is made when he replaces every instance of “that” with “who” because “that” is not only a pronoun but also signifies the introduction of a restrictive clause. The sentence, as it is, is grammatically correct (just wordy). With the wordiness edited out, the sentence becomes “I want to have friends I can trust, that love me for the man I’ve become.”

To be fair, however, the usage of “that, which,” and “who,” is one of the most confusing aspects of English grammar. :p

Leave a Reply

