Grammar’s Importance

Grammar can seem daunting to people, even overwhelming.

I think part of that is because it’s not really taught in school. Sure,  you learn how to diagram a sentence in sixth grade, but it’s so confusing at that point that the students lose interest and focus on something else.

Because we speak English as our native language, we understand it because “that’s just how it works.” We don’t need to know grammar rules in order to speak our language. Somewhere along the way, the basics of our grammar just stuck to our minds. We absorbed English and we speak it without having to think about the way our sentences are constructed.

But utilizing good grammar is vital to both speaking and writing well. The tools needed to make an impression on others are at the tips of our fingers. The parts of speech we ignore every day but use on a daily basis can provide us, when we utilize them properly, with amazing results.

When we utilize grammar correctly, our speech becomes clear and concise. It allows us to make ourselves understood, especially in those moments we’re not sure what to say.

2 thoughts on “Grammar’s Importance

  1. Taught history 33 years high school in Miami. Very little grammar in high school as new teachers specialize in literature and don’t really know basics themselves. I have never seen drills like who/whom and there/their/they’re for examples. As a matter of fact the teachers are not qualified to teach 11th Am Lit and 12 Eng Lit because the college curricula have drifted from the classics in favor of women’s lit studies, liberation literature and minority studies et al. Certainly these have merit but what do you teach in limited time frame? the kids are disadvantaged too because they are not knowledgeable for state exams. Thanks visit my blog.

    • I know. The lack of grammar in school wasn’t apparent to me until I left school and started teaching myself the grammar necessities I needed in order to write well.

      Thinking back, I can’t remember ever doing any who/whom, there/their/they’re, or you/your/you’re drills either. And don’t forget the too/two/to.

      I think English needs to be separated into two different classes: Literature and Grammar. I enjoy reading, but I understand what I’m reading better when I can tell if it is written with great grammar or horrible grammar. If it’s written badly, 90% of the time, I don’t bother.

Leave a Reply

