Daily Prompt–Sweet Sixteen

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen: When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?


At 16, I was dealing with the aftermath of my mom’s death. I took on a lot of responsibilities that I hadn’t dealt with before, like taking care of my sister and making sure she ended up at school. My dad withdrew from us and spent more time away from home than before; it was the only way he could cope with his grief.

I threw myself into my schoolwork, colorguard practice, and my fast food job. I did everything I could to keep my mind occupied so I didn’t have to think about what I’d lost.

I was so focused on getting through life at that point that I didn’t have time to think about what I wanted from it. I never made long-term goals because I couldn’t see past the next few days.

My life now is a lot more stable; I’m not dealing with mind-numbing grief. I write daily and I’ve been an aspiring writer since I learned that I could write fiction as well as read it. I’m in a loving relationship and I live on my own. The only people I have to take care of now are the people I choose to; I don’t feel forced to look after my sister anymore because she’s fully grown and capable of making her own decisions.

I’m content, for the most part. And when I was sixteen, I never thought I’d be able to say that. All I could feel then was pain.

Leave a Reply

